New Year’s Traditions for 2013


On December 30, 2012, I helped pound mochi and make Kadomatsu at the Pearl City Urban Garden from 8:30 A.M. to 2 P.M. That afternoon, I fastened bamboo and pine on both sides of my door for my home in Waikele. I also placed a good look mochi I helped to make at the Pearl City Urban Garden in my living room.

On New Year’s Eve, December 31, 2012, I placed another good luck mochi I bought from Don Quijote in my living room. I also cooked Cioppino for my family dinner on my mom’s side that was held at the Matsumoto family home in Pearl City. The Cioppino was my 32nd new recipe I cooked in 2012. From the lanai, we watched fireworks popping high in the sky throughout Pearl City and out to the Ewa plains. It looked beautiful though not as much as before the change in the law. Before, we used to pop all kinds of fireworks. After midnight, my dad cooked everyone ozoni, which is a Japanese mochi soup for good luck that must be the first thing one eats on the 1st day of the year.

On New Year’s Day, January 1, 2013, my mom, dad, younger sister Lara, and I went to Honolulu Jodo Shu Buddhist Temple to get omomori & pray to my grandparents Maurice and Bessie Karamatsu. Then we went to Izuma Taisha Shinto Shrine in Downtown to pray, get blessed, buy omomori, drink good luck sake, and eat good luck candy. After, we ate lunch at Empress Restaurant in the Chinese Cultural Center. Next, I showed my family my office where I fastened bamboo and pine on both sides of my office door. Inside of my office I set a omomori on my shelf. Also on my shelf, I had a good luck mochi I got from my friend Tricia Nakamatsu, which I placed there the day after Christmas. When I got back home, I placed the Izuma Taisha omomori by the entrances of my home. I put the Jodo Shu omomori on the wall in the middle of my living room. I fastened two more Izuma Taisha omomori to my briefcase. Izuma Taisha also gave some good luck rice that we need to cook with the rest of the rice. I am doing some stuff for my home and then will head to my parents’ house to eat sashimi for dinner. Maybe we will be able to Skype with my younger sister Mia and baby Elyse. Later in the evening, I plan to work on my 3rd draft of my writing project.

Happy New Year My Dear Friends! I wish you good health, prosperity, and happiness!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

